In Taiwan, you wait in line for your donut

I am an American, and I like a donut like almost anyone else. I can honestly appreciate a donut when I go back home for vacation. You can find donuts here as well, however a “good” donut has been unavailable for some time. With Mr. Donut’s store number “3” in Taiwan this is no longer the case, however they are not even close to Krispy Kreme when it comes to efficiency.

My first donut I bought looked delicious. It was covered in sugar and looked light and fluffy. The only problem was that it wasn’t. It felt like it was sitting in water for 1/2 hour, however upon further inspection it was oil. If you know about deep-fat frying, you know that you need to cook foods at high heat or else they absorb too much oil. This donut had to be cooked at room temperature because it was heavy, spongy and you could squeeze oil out of it.

donut1

Lately the local person in Taipei could get their donut fix at a store called Mr. Donut. The only problem with Mr. Donut is the fact that they make you line up for a donut and wait. Lines here are longer than lines for a new ride at Disneyland. Additionally, buying a donut here is now seen as fashionable, and they limit the number you can purchase.

When I look at Mr. Donut all I see is a poorly run business. It is crazy that a donut shop cannot make enough to meet demand. They obviously never seen Krispy Kreme’s donut machine. They are slow and if you can read the sign you will notice that they limit your purchase to 10 donuts.

It isn’t like I would want to buy more than 2 donuts at a time, but the fact that you couldn’t get a dozen donuts to bring to work to share with your co-workers is a shame. Furthermore, donuts are either a breakfast food, late night food or a impulsive food. In all cases you are looking for that quick donut fix, and Mr. Donut does not deliver. They close before 10 PM, they open after breakfast and the lines take 30 minutes to go through.

donut2

Krispy Kreme, wake up! Taiwan is just begging for your donuty goodness. Put Mr. Donut in its place (and maybe even put them out of business) by allowing anyone to purchase as many donuts as they like quickly and easily. In the mean time I refuse to purchase a donut from Mr. Donut. I am not saying I would turn down a donut if someone offered me one, I am saying that I will never encourage their their business model by giving them my money.

4 responses to “In Taiwan, you wait in line for your donut

  1. jtomline

    In fect I’m trying to find where Mr.donut is. That is interesting fashion that if manufacturers linger customers long enough, products would be more popular, especially when the product is food. (Of course, merchandise can’t be too terrible.) If there are more and more counterfeits, Mr. donut will expend it’s productivity.
    Line up for hours looks strange to me, too, as a local Taiwanese. But a donut from Mr.donut as gift express more than other product.
    Or can any one give me some idea what gift can I send if receiver is in short of nothing….T_T

  2. Mr Donut is at Breeze center, around Tiemu (I spelled it wrong) and near Taipei 101, right outside New York, New York. The photo I took was near New York, New York.

    I also have to argue about a donut being a gift item. It is a breakfast item for Saturday mornings or for long car trips.

  3. Steven and I got donuts last night at the Mr. Donut near breeze center. They are ok, and about the same quality as any small time donut shop in the US, however their lines are still too long. We only had to wait 10 minutes, but they are so inefficient.

    The donuts are made in a room that looks like a chip “clean room” with five workers in there all wearing face masks, hats and a special white frock.

    Out front sit 8 workers to take your order and collect your money. With 13 people working there you would think it would take less time to buy a donut.