How to get married in Vancouver – Getting the Marriage License

Once you have decided to get married in Vancouver, one member of the couple getting married needs to apply for a Marriage License with a Marriage License Issuer.  The marriage license is valid for up to three months from the date issued and costs $100 CDN dollars (cash).

When we applied for the marriage certificate, we supplied the following information for each person:

  • Passport
  • Full legal name
  • Marriage status
  • Current address
  • Phone number
  • Birth date / location

Please remember to have all the information for EACH PERSON before visiting the Marriage License issuer.  You can review the PDF form used to obtain a marriage license. You can also search the database of Marriage License Issuers.

6 responses to “How to get married in Vancouver – Getting the Marriage License

  1. I am trying to bring my fiance into Canada and I am having a world of trouble, do you have any suggestions for that?

    pyrorip@hotmail.com

  2. How are you having trouble? For me it was open and shut! Each of us had a Visa, we arrived and entered the country.

  3. if a don’t have a passport what else can i use as an ID

  4. We’re coming to Canada in February to get married from the USA but we’re having alot of problems planning and cannot find many websites that show packages and pricing. Can anyone help? Please e-mail me

  5. I’ve a question about the Marriage License. Could anyone can tell me the location and address to get the Marriage License? Many thanks!

  6. Jennifer

    Hi! My name is Jennifer and I think this website is amazing to answer marriage questions. I was having trouble searching, but wow! I think I will call Ann when I get home later. Thanks James! Here is my situation…

    We are both 19. He is originally from the Caribbean. I am originally from Canada. We have our 2 witnesses. How much will it cost? We don’t care where the wedding is, as in a few years, we will have a wedding with the guests, tux and dress, etc. What type of ID will we need? How much extra if I change my last name to his?

    I have heard all of the comments about us being too young, so please don’t have anything against us. I’ve heard it all.

    Thanks SO much once again, James!